

Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Ministry of Housing and Urban Development

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 18, 2024

Newly installed board to revitalise East Port-of-Spain

Port-of-Spain, Trinidad – The Ministry of Housing and Urban Development today marked a significant milestone in the ongoing transformation of east Port-of-Spain with the appointment and reappointment of key persons to the Board of Directors of the East Port of Spain Development Company Limited (EPOS). The ceremony, held at the Ministry's headquarters on October 18, 2024, underscored the Government's unwavering dedication to urban renewal, economic growth, and community empowerment within this vital region of the capital city.

Presiding over the ceremony, the Honourable Adrian Leonce, Minister in the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development, emphasised the pivotal role of the board in driving projects aligned with Government's Vision 2030 mandate. He commended the reappointed chairman and directors for their exemplary leadership over the past two years, highlighting their instrumental role in spearheading transformative infrastructure and socio-economic initiatives.

Minister Leonce announced a substantial investment of \$20 million for fiscal year 2024/2025 to revitalise east Port-of-Spain. "This allocation will not only enhance physical infrastructure but also foster significant socio-economic benefits through a \$4 million investment in social and economic programmes focused on personal development, entrepreneurial training, and literacy initiatives," Leonce said.

The Minister lauded the board's impressive track record of implementing thirty-eight (38) social and economic programmes in fiscal 2023/2024, acknowledging their profound impact on the community. He highlighted the success stories of programme participants who have secured employment in construction projects across the capital city, demonstrating the tangible benefits of these initiatives.

Among the key programmes set for expansion are:

- The **Community Business Incubator** project: Fostering entrepreneurship and economic growth.
- An **Online Literacy Programme**: Bridging educational gaps and empowering individuals.
- **Project Bloom**: A mentorship initiative empowering young women aged 14–17.

Minister Leonce also welcomed four new Board members, underscoring the Government's commitment to fostering young professionals in civic governance. The newly appointed Directors bring fresh perspectives and expertise to the Company's efforts in urban regeneration and community development.

He urged the board to focus not only on completing existing projects but on building a legacy of long-term socioeconomic progress. "Your task is not merely to create infrastructure but to champion a broader vision for east Port-of-Spain that addresses the community's needs for education, economic security, and sustainable development," he said.

Reappointed Board Members:

- Mr. Hillan Morean (Chairman)
- Dr. Charisa-Marie François
- Ms. Tricia Goden
- Ms. Jean Maxine Richards
- Mr. Jesse Williams
- Dr. Keron Victor
- Mrs. Alana Kirk-Wilson

New Board Members:

- Mrs. Tramaine Burgess-Rodriguez
- Ms. Lisa Robinson
- Ms. Sharon Quintyne
- Ms. Melissa Griffith

The EPOS Development Company is at the forefront of urban redevelopment in east Port-of-Spain, spearheading initiatives that not only improve infrastructure but also enhance the quality of life for residents. With a diverse and capable team at the helm, and the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development as its line Ministry, EPOS is well-positioned to advance its mission over the next two years.

ENDS -

For further information, please contact:

Ministry of Housing and Urban Development

Tel: 623-4663 ext. 2168

Email: ttministryofhousingandurbandev@gmail.com



Newly Appointed Members to the EPOSDCL: (L-R row 1) Ms. Sharon Quintyne; Ms. Jean Maxine Richards; Hon. Adrian Leonce, Minister in the Ministry; Hillan Morean, EPOS Chairman; Ms. Tricia Goden, Deputy Chairman; Dr. Charisa-Marie Francois, and Ms. Melissa Griffith. (L-R standing row 2) Ms. Lisa Robinson, Mr. Jesse Williams, Mrs. Tramaine Burgess-Rodriquez and Mrs. Alana Kirk-Wilson.