

Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Ministry of Housing and Urban Development

September 30, 2024

MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release

Minister Robinson-Regis presents Letters of Appointment

New POSSCL Board Appointed

Port of Spain, September 27, 2024 - **The Honourable Camille Robinson-Regis, Minister of Housing and Urban Development** presented Letters of Appointment and Reappointment to the Chairman and Directors of the Port of Spain Shopping Complex (POSSCL) at brief ceremony held at the Ministry's Head Office, South Quay, Port-of-Spain. POSSCL, a wholly owned State Enterprise was incorporated on February 26, 2020, to facilitate the operation and management of Eastside Plaza, New City Mall and No. 43 Independence Square, Port of Spain.

Reappointed members were selected in accordance with Cabinet Minute No. 1643 and will serve for a period of two (2) years from September 20, 2024 and newly appointed members will serve with immediate effect from September 13, 2024.

Reappointed members comprise of:

Mr. Montgomery Guy	Chairman
Ms. Belinda Charles	Director
Ms Sharon Felix	Director
Ms. Tersha Singh	Director
Mr. Lester Henry	Director
Mrs. Rayann Williams-Gulston	Director

Corporate Communications Unit

Level 2 – HDC Building, #44-46 South Quay, Port-of-Spain Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, West Indies Telephone: (868) 623 4663 Ext. 2168 www.housing.gov.tt

Newly Appointed members comprise of:

Mrs. Marilyn Lewis-Tobias Director
Mr. Randy Sinanan Director
Mrs. Tricia Stephens-Joseph Director
Ms. Aisha Kujifi Director
Ms. Marilyn Michael Director
Mr. Gary Ferdinand Director
Ms. Genève Simmer Mohammed Director

In delivering remarks, the Honourable Minister, Camille Robinson-Regis thanked former board members for their service and dedication and congratulated the incoming members. She stated, "While overseeing the operations of the company, remember that your primary role is to ensure optimal organizational performance. I do not expect you to delve into the day-day activities of the company, but instead, to focus on reviewing systems and implementing policies that will enhance operations, improve the working environment for both staff and tenants, and minimize risks to the company and Ministry."

The Honourable Minister added, "Your decisions must be in alignment with government policies and best practices, and they should be guided by robust performance management systems. Keep in mind that the majority of your clientele are from lower income backgrounds. It is imperative that you design programmes that will help these individuals and their businesses not only to survive but thrive, benefiting the entire country."

Minister Adrian Leonce, Minister in the Ministry, also praised the efforts of the last board and congratulated the new members. He said, "Ensure that the government policies are carried out to ensure that everyone gets their chance. Minister Leonce said, the vision and mandate for the POSSCL will be expanded and new members will be tasked with that responsibility. He urged the POSSCL to strengthen and build their marketing strategies and keep the focus to grow POSSCL into a premier entity."

Also delivering brief remarks was returning Chairman Montgomery Guy, who said, "The recent MOU signing with NEDCO to provide training in business development for tenants of the mall, was the real motivation and indeed the performance measure for the POSSCL. This programme continues to transform the lives of tenants in east Port of Spain and I believe that POSSCL is doing something good and meaningful."

(See photos with supporting captions below)



Newly Appointed Members to the POSCCL: (L-R seated) POSSCL Chairman Montgomery Guy, Minister of Housing and Urban Development Hon. Camille Robinson-Regis, Minister in the Ministry Hon. Adrian Leonce. (L-R standing row 1) Board of Directors: Ms. Marilyn Lewis-Tobias, Ms. Belinda Charles, Ms. Rayann Williams-Gulston, Ms. Marilyn Michael, Ms. Sharon Felix, and Ms. Tersha Singh. (L-R standing row 2) Mr. Gary Ferdinand, Ms. Genève Simmer Mohammed, Mr. Lester Henry, Mr. Randy Sinanan and Ms. Aisha Kujifi.